Winter 2024 Hybrid Introductory Course: Osteopathy in the Cranial Field

Course Announcements

2/27/24  Final quiz grades are posted under the Course Information page

2/24/24  Health History.  Please make sure to fill out this Health History Form by Friday March 1 to help us prepare for your lab experience.

2/24/24 Contact Information and Membership.  Also please fill out this form with your contact and other demographic information.  We will be using this for course attendance.  First-time course attendees also get 1 year of membership in the OCA, so we will use this to complete your member packet.

2/21/24  The lab sessions will be in Bartolin Hall on the 2nd floor.  Bartolin Hall is number 11 on the Broadmoor Campus map, and is the new building to the left of Broadmoor Hall (where the AAO Exhibit Hall is usually housed).

2/21/24  Zoom discussion group assignments for Week 4 are posted under the  “Zoom” tab, and quiz grades from Week 3 are posted under “Quizzes” tab.

2/8/24  Zoom discussion group assignments for Week 3 are posted under the  “Zoom” tab, and quiz grades from Week 2 are posted under “Quizzes” tab.  Remember there are no discussion groups over Presidents Day weekend, so you have some extra time to watch the Week 4 videos, and to go back and review anything from previous weeks.

2/5/24  As a reminder, the labs start Sunday March 3 2024 at 8am and go until 6pm on Sunday/Monday, and finish by 5pm on Tuesday March 5.

2/5/24  If you don’t have accommodations for the lab portion of the course yet, it will be at the Broadmoor in Colorado Springs before AAO Convocation. You can make a reservation at the Broadmoor under AAO conference rates at https://book.passkey.com/event/50686233/owner/8026/home. Student rates are reserved for medical students, everyone else should book as an “Attendee”.

2/5/24 Quiz grades from Week 2 are posted under “Quizzes” tab below

1/31/24  Zoom discussion group assignments for Week 2 are posted under the  “Zoom” tab, and quiz grades from Week 1 are posted under “Quizzes” tab

1/25/24  Zoom discussion group assignments are posted below under the “Zoom” tab.

1/25/24  You should have started accessing your Week 1 lectures in Teachable and need to complete the quizzes before your Sunday discussion group.

1/12/24  If you have previously taken an approved 40-hour course from OCA, OPC, or SCTF — you do NOT need to take the written & practical tests, just let us know the sponsor and date of your previous 40-hour course.  We encourage taking the quizzes if you want to help reinforce your learning, but it is not required.

1/12/24  If you can’t access the quiz, make sure that all the videos have played all the way to the end (especially if you were watching on enhanced speed).  If that doesn’t work, email us at CourseDirector @ cranialacademy.org and we can manually set you as having completed the videos.  If all else fails, we will post the quiz links on this page under the “Quizzes and Results” tab on Saturday night and you can do them Sunday morning.

1/12/24  Make sure to fill out this Google Form with preferences and constraints for Discussion Group time slots.  The schedule for Jan 28 discussion groups will be emailed out, and also posted on this page under the “Zoom” tab, as soon as everyone’s information as been received.

1/12/24 Questions about content or anything you have read or heard?  Email CourseDirector @ cranialacademy.org. We will get back to you soon (hopefully within 24 hours), and also post our answers in the FAQ tab below.  Do NOT hit “Reply to” on emails from our automated systems, as those go to a less-attended email address and may not be seen for a few days.

1/12/24   There is a handout study guide to review under the “Pre-Course Study” tab.

For MD and dentists, the OCA has prepared some pre-course educational videos to help you get up to speed with some important foundations in osteopathy that you may not have been exposed to yet.  You can find links to the videos under the “Pre-Course Study” tab,

In previous years, DO residents and students have also found the videos in the “Pre-Course Study” very helpful as foundational review.

 

 

 

Zoom Discussion Group Schedule

Assignments for 2/25/2024

11am Eastern/10am Central/9am Mountain/8am Pacific

https://cranialacademy-org.zoom.us/j/84674126175?pwd=WWdiRUp5R3ZicUpuVXR0ZFJQQkJuQT09

Paul Choi
Ashima Singh
Tanner Roberts
Megan Dudek
Priya Bhushan
William Stauffer
Erin Hoppin
Gabrielle LaFata

12:30pm Eastern/11:30am Central/10:30am Mountain/9:30am Pacific

https://cranialacademy-org.zoom.us/j/89270067427?pwd=TEZoZVJZZDZlb2FkalpFZEgrL0xTZz09

Mark Unger
Erica Yamamoto
Caitlin Magee
Sydney Delcambre
Leah Gloskey
Max Zasuly
Artem Frolov
Mary Hyland

 


 

3pm Eastern/2pm Central/1pm Mountain/12noon Pacific         

https://cranialacademy-org.zoom.us/j/85318916612?pwd=Zk10enJNclBxU3hEUGRMY1FWN0lOdz09

Daniel Frantz
Sadie Daugereaux
Tatiana Abdulnour
Grace Cromwell
Stephanie Obialo
Reed Parent
Alina Frolova
Kathy Jarman
Cathy Tran

 


7:30pm Eastern/6:30pm Central/5:30pm Mountain/4:30pm Pacific     

https://cranialacademy-org.zoom.us/j/86833650410?pwd=TzZrNnVLMEZsd1JIRW1EVlFrc2Z2dz09

Naomi Swain
Karin Darakananda
Alberto Vasquez
Summer Moukalled
Kaitlyn Geers
David Vogel
Carla Champagne
Cameron Widhalm
Eran Muto

9pm Eastern/8pm Central/7pm Mountain/6pm Pacific

https://cranialacademy-org.zoom.us/j/82526658862?pwd=MDVHOUlNUUpDRnFpbE5qeE4rbmNsdz09

Caroline Beall
Natasha Hamilton
Clara McMillan
Spencer Fitch
Joy Skaug
Sahar Hameed
Urja Shah
Thomas Pentzer
Keiko Inouye

 


 

 

Quizzes and Results

Week 4 Quiz

Week 4Week 4Pre-LabWeek 1Week 2Week 3Week 4Cumulative
Fill in (36 pts)MC (52 pts)MC (  pts)%%%%%
AV3547100%94%86%93%93%
AlF344164%80%82%85%78%
ArF355299%89%87%99%93%
AS344493%93%88%89%90%
CMa365285%71%97%100%88%
CW364594%90%76%92%88%
CC354590%89%92%91%91%
CB344795%85%97%92%92%
CT365184%95%92%99%92%
CMc365090%88%80%98%89%
DF344893%79%93%93%90%
DV282975%87%64%65%73%
EM364679%78%80%93%83%
EY365195%94%80%99%92%
*EH70%
GL364194%90%78%88%87%
GC3647100%99%91%94%96%
JS365280%98%99%100%94%
KG3446100%93%83%91%92%
KDa364695%96%97%93%95%
*KDw
*KJ364695%91%96%93%94%
KI314693%89%80%88%87%
LG365199%93%92%99%96%
*MU55%
*MH
MZ364695%89%89%93%92%
MD344895%91%91%93%93%
NS344598%93%88%90%92%
NH353795%89%83%82%87%
PC364790%98%95%94%94%
*PB95%77%78%83%
RP365194%98%91%99%95%
SDa364090%94%86%86%89%
SH3447100%94%96%92%96%
SF344690%94%92%91%92%
SO354880%80%78%94%83%
SM3650100%100%97%98%99%
SDe364876%76%75%95%81%
TR3641100%88%82%88%89%
TA334791%89%86%91%89%
TP354485%87%83%90%86%
US3650100%94%93%98%96%
WS364595%89%84%92%90%

* have taken a previous 40-hour course and not required to take/pass quiz

 

Part 1, Multiple Choice  https://forms.gle/LcBbCZqTuCWH5k3HA

Part 2, Short Answer  https://forms.gle/8YfvCjMPrBv8JfX68

 

Week 3 Quiz

Week 3Week 3Week 1Week 2Week 3Cumulative
Fill in (  pts)MC (  pts)%%%%
AV2639100%94%86%93%
AlF243864%80%82%75%
ArF264099%89%87%92%
AS264193%93%88%91%
CMa284685%71%97%84%
CW184094%90%76%87%
CC304090%89%92%90%
CB304495%85%97%93%
CT304084%95%92%90%
CMc204190%88%80%86%
DF264593%79%93%88%
DV222775%87%64%75%
EM243779%78%80%79%
EY263595%94%80%90%
*EH70%
GL263394%90%78%87%
GC2643100%99%91%97%
JS304580%98%99%92%
KG2439100%93%83%92%
KDa304495%96%97%96%
*KDw
*KJ294495%91%96%94%
KI243793%89%80%87%
LG264499%93%92%95%
*MU55%
*MH
MZ284095%89%89%91%
MD294095%91%91%92%
NS283998%93%88%93%
NH263795%89%83%89%
PC284490%98%95%94%
*PB223795%77%78%83%
RP264394%98%91%94%
SDa303590%94%86%90%
SH3043100%94%96%97%
SF304090%94%92%92%
SO243580%80%78%79%
SM3044100%100%97%99%
SDe223576%76%75%76%
TR2438100%88%82%90%
TA263991%89%86%89%
TP263785%87%83%85%
US3041100%94%93%96%
WS244095%89%84%89%

* have taken a previous 40-hour course and not required to take/pass quiz

 

Week 3 Part 1 (Multiple Choice):  https://forms.gle/S9vNfiEnLeH9PuZM7

Week 3 Part 2 (Short Answer):  https://forms.gle/Qp9q6Zevg31ZCr2Q8

 

Week 2 Quiz

Week 2Week 2Week 1Week 2Cum.
Fill in (32 pts)MC (50 pts)%%%
AlF303664%80%72%
ArF294499%89%94%
AS324493%93%93%
AV2948100%94%97%
CB284295%85%90%
CC294490%89%90%
CMa144485%71%78%
CMc284490%88%89%
CT304884%95%89%
CW284694%90%92%
DF273893%79%86%
DV274475%87%81%
*EH70%
EM244079%78%78%
EY294895%94%94%
GC3150100%99%99%
GL284694%90%92%
JS324880%98%89%
KDa295095%96%96%
*KDw
KG3244100%93%96%
KI274693%89%91%
*KJ294695%91%93%
LG304699%93%96%
MD314495%91%93%
*MH
*MU55%
MZ274695%89%92%
NH314295%89%92%
NS304698%93%95%
*PB253895%77%86%
PC324890%98%94%
RP324894%98%96%
SDa294890%94%92%
SDe204276%76%76%
SF314690%94%92%
SH3146100%94%97%
SM3250100%100%100%
SO283880%80%80%
TA294491%89%90%
TP274485%87%86%
TR2844100%88%94%
US3146100%94%97%
WS274695%89%92%

* have taken a previous 40-hour course and not required to take/pass quiz

Week 2 Part 1 (Multiple Choice):  https://forms.gle/LEju93XowJFzzyxM9

Week 2 Part 2 (Short Answer):  https://forms.gle/cdbNgAbTDX3f24q47

Quiz Grades-Week 1

Fill in (36 pts)MC (44 pts)%
AlF272464%
ArF354499%
AS344093%
AV3644100%
CB364095%
CC363690%
CM244485%
CM363690%
CT353284%
CW354094%
DF344093%
DV283275%
EM313279%
EY364095%
GC3644100%
GL354094%
JS283680%
KDa364095%
KG3644100%
KI344093%
LG354499%
MD364095%
MZ364095%
NH364095%
NS344498%
PB*364095%
PC324090%
RP354094%
SDa324090%
SDe293276%
SF284490%
SH3644100%
SM3644100%
SO362880%
TA294491%
TP363285%
TR3644100%
US3644100%
WS364095%
EH*243270%
KJ*364095%
MU*4455%
MH*
KDw*

* have taken a previous 40-hour course and not required to take/pass quiz

Week 1 Part 1 (Multiple Choice):  https://forms.gle/6cdXANGLceuawjWX7

Week 1 Part 2 (Short Answer):  https://forms.gle/nDm8hZfrsCj6E3aE9

 

Pre-Course Study

Pre-Course Foundations in Osteopathy for MDs and Dentists

Osteopathic Principles

Osteopathic Touch

Osteopathic Terminology

Overview of Osteopathic History

 

Pre-Course Review Handout

Pre-Course Study Guide

FAQ and Q/A

 

 

Lab Info

The lab sessions will be in Bartolin Hall on the 2nd floor.  Bartolin Hall is number 11 on the Broadmoor Campus map, and is the new building to the left of Broadmoor Hall (where the AAO Exhibit Hall is usually housed).

Lunch is a buffet and has GF/DF and vegetarian options each day.  You can see the full menu for each day below.

SUNDAY

SOUP

Olathe Corn Chowder (Milk)

Pico de Gallo

SALADS

Farmer’s Market Salad Bar

Romaine Lettuce (Vegan)

Boiled Egg (Egg)

Green Beans, Radishes, Tomatoes (Vegan)

Red Potato, Red Onion (Vegan)

Croutons (Wheat)

Herb Vinaigrette (Vegan)

Cucumber & Heirloom Tomato Salad

Radish, Garbanzo Beans, Red Onion, Oregano

Citrus Marinated Green & Purple Cabbage (Vegan)

Broadmoor Bakery Bread, Butter (Milk, Wheat)

ENTREES & SIDES

Spice Grilled Chicken Breast

1858 BBQ Sauce, Grilled Scallions

Cotija Cheese (Milk)

Vegetarian Tamales

Roasted Tomatillo Sauce (Vegetarian)

Pillars of Hercules Ancient Grain Bowl

Marinated Corn & Chickpeas, Golden Rice & Red Peas

San Luis Valley Red Quinoa & Kale (Vegan)

Pueblo Green Chili Succotash

Roasted Squash, Lima Beans, Poblano

Heirloom Tomatoes, Garden Herbs (Vegan)

DESSERTS

S’more Verrine

66% Chocolate, Marshmallow Cream

Graham Cracker Crumble (Milk, Egg, Wheat)

Vanilla Cream Puff

Bourbon Custard (Milk, Egg, Wheat)

 

MONDAY

SOUP

New England Clam Chowder

Smoked Bacon, Potato, Garlic Croutons (Milk, Wheat, Shellfish)

SALADS

Marinated Caprese Platter

Heirloom Tomatoes, Fresh Mozzarella, Pesto, Chiffonade Basil, Gem Lettuce

Herb Crostini, Olive Wood Balsamic Vinegar (Milk, Wheat, Vegetarian)

Old Derby Cobb Salad Bar

Chicken, Tomato, Bacon, Avocado, Boiled Egg, Roquefort

Old Derby Dressing (Milk, Egg)

ENTREES & SIDES

Cajun Shrimp Penne

Rock Shrimp, Roasted Peppers, Tomatoes, Garlic, Fresh Herbs

Cajun Cream Sauce (Milk, Wheat, Shellfish)

Colorado Red Bird Chicken Picatta

White Wine, Lemon, Caper Sauce, House Made Spaghetti

Parmesan, Chili Flakes (Milk, Wheat)

Charred Cauliflower & Broccoli Provencal

DESSERTS

Key Lime Pie

Lime Curd, Sweet Dough Crust, Chantilly (Milk, Egg, Wheat)

Double Chocolate Layer Cake

Dark Chocolate Mousse, Dark Chocolate Ganache (Milk, Egg, Wheat)

 

TUESDAY

SOUP

Fire Roasted Tomato Tortilla Soup

Crispy Tortilla Strips, Red Onion & Cilantro (Wheat, Vegetarian)

SALADS

Southwestern Caesar Salad Bar

Romaine Lettuce, Corn & Black Beans, Crispy Tortilla Strips, Pepper Jack Cheese

Southwest Caesar Dressing, Creamy Green Chili Dressing (Milk, Egg, Wheat, Fish)

Street Corn & Nopales Salad

Grilled Cactus, Chayote Squash, Charred Colorado Sweet Corn, Chili, Lime Crema

Cilantro, Cotija Cheese, Tequila Vinaigrette (Milk, Vegetarian)

ENTREES & SIDES

Chicken Tinga

Stewed Tomato, Onion, Adobo Sauce

Pork Carnitas Al Pastor

Guajillo Sauce, Achiote Paste, Charred Pineapple

Flour Tortillas (Wheat, Vegan) | Corn Tortillas (Vegan)

Diced Tomatoes, Lettuce, Fresh Radishes, Limes, Onion & Cilantro (Vegan)

Shredded Cheddar Cheese, Sour Cream (Milk) Salsa Verde, Salsa Roja (Vegan)

Roasted Squash

Zucchini, Yellow Squash, Red Pepper, Poblano, Red Onion (Vegan)

Long Grain Rice with Cilantro (Vegan)

Jalapeño Corn Bread (Egg, Wheat)

DESSERTS

Arroz Con Leche

Cinnamon Raisin Infused Rice Pudding (Milk)

Chocoflan

Chocolate Cake, Vanilla Bean Custard (Milk, Egg, Wheat)

Cancellation Policy

Cancellation policy:

All cancellations must be received in writing at the office of The Osteopathic Cranial Academy. Cancellations more than 30 days prior to the course will be refunded minus a $50 processing fee. Cancellations less than 30 days in advance will be credited towards a future course.  No discount will be provided for individuals not participating in food functions.

You must pass the lecture portion of the course in order to participate in the lab portion of the course.  No refunds will be given if you fail to pass the course.

Participants who have received a scholarship and cancel or drop out  after the course starts (1/19/24), or who fail the lecture portion of the course, will be responsible for paying for the scholarship portion and will not be eligible to apply for future scholarships.