The Board has nominated the following physicians for 2-year terms as officers of the Osteopathic Cranial Academy.

For President-Elect:  Julie Mai DO

Dr. Mai has served on the OCA Board of Directors since 2019, and has served on the Executive Committee since 2021 as Secretary.  She is chair of the Membership Committee, where she created and initiated the popular Learn-and-Share sessions to provide community and professional development during the pandemic lockdown. Dr. Mai graduated from Touro University College of Osteopathic Medicine, where she currently is a clinical adjunct faculty member. She worked closely with Dr. Viola Frymann for several years and is currently on the board of directors for the Osteopathic Center for Children, in which she is serving as their president. Dr. Mai has been recognized by the OCA for Proficiency in OCF, and is part of the teaching faculty for both the OCA and for Osteopathy’s Promise to Children. She has two California OMM practice locations in Fountain Valley (Orange County) and Encinitas (San Diego). Dr. Mai is the founder and medical director of the Center for Synergistic Healing since 2019. Through her various experiences in business and leadership roles in other organizations, she looks forward to contributing to the forward growth of OCA and its members.

For Secretary: Nicole Peña DO

Nicole Peña, DO is a member of the OCA Board of Directors since 2022.  She is co-chair of the Introductory Course Committee, and has been an active member of the OCA Online Education Task Force and Continuing Studies Committee.  She is also on the teaching faculty for the OCA.  Dr. Peña is an Associate Professor and Chair of the OMM department at Touro University California College of Osteopathic Medicine (TUCCOM), and she has been recognized by the OCA for Proficiency in OCF.  Dr. Peña is a graduate of the University of San Diego and Touro College of Osteopathic Medicine in New York City. She completed her internship and residency training in OMM/NMM at St. Barnabas Hospital, where she also served as Chief Resident.

The Board has nominated the following physicians for two positions on the Board of Directors (3-year terms)

Maria Gentile DO

Maria Gentile DO has been a member of the OCA Board of Directors since 2016.  In addition to being an active member of several OCA committees, she previously served as Chair of the Annual Conference Committee.  She is a Course Director for the upcoming Fluid Course, was Conference Director of both the 2013 and 2021 Annual Conferences, and is on the OCA teaching faculty.  Dr. Gentile graduated from the UNTHSC Texas College of Osteopathic Medicine in 2000 after completing an undergraduate teaching fellowship in the OMM department under Richard Koss DO. She completed a rotating internship at Warren Hospital in Phillipsburg NJ and an OMM residency at St. Barnabas Hospital in the Bronx NY. Dr. Gentile is board certified in NMM/OMM by the AOBNMM and in Holistic Medicine by the American Board of Integrative and Holistic Medicine. Prior to her retirement, Dr. Gentile practiced traditional osteopathic medicine in a holistic group practice.

David Spencer DO

David Spencer DO is a board-certified physician in internal medicine and neuromusculoskeletal medicine/osteopathic manipulative medicine (NMM/OMM). He is a 2013 graduate of Lincoln Memorial University – DeBusk College of Osteopathic Medicine in Tennessee. He completed the 4-year integrated internal medicine/neuromusculoskeletal medicine residency at Northeast Regional Medical Center in Kirskville MO in 2017.  In addition to an active outpatient practice providing primary care for adult patients and osteopathic manipulation for patients of all ages, he is an adjunct assistant professor at AT Still University in Kirksville.